> This page is for version v2025-04-21.
> For other versions, use one of these documentation indexes:
> - v2026-02-09 (default): https://docs.extend.ai/2026-02-09/llms.txt
> - v2025-04-21: https://docs.extend.ai/2025-04-21/llms.txt
> - v2024-12-23: https://docs.extend.ai/2024-12-23/llms.txt

> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.extend.ai/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.
>
> ## API version
> The current API version is `2026-02-09`, served at the site root (no version prefix in URLs).
> If this page URL contains `/2025-04-21/` or `/2024-12-23/`, you are reading an older API version.
> Prefer the current docs at https://docs.extend.ai/llms.txt unless the user explicitly needs that older version.
> Do not treat older-version pages as the source of truth for new integrations.

# Workflow Versioning

Workflow versioning allows you to deploy different versions of a workflow and run a specific version of the workflow. This is useful when you want to make changes to a workflow, but don't want to affect the currently deployed versions of the workflow. For details on how to run the different versions of a workflow via API, see the [API docs](/2025-04-21/developers/api-reference/workflow-endpoints/run-workflow).

To view the workflow versions, click on the "Version history" button in the lower left corner of the workflow editor.

![](/_fern-files/_img/2a3011fa9e3cd5731c2cdcc323cbfb177db1701fb9a1020a144a88e2f13b5bd4.webp)

The versions are displayed in a side panel on the left side of the screen. The "Draft" version above the separator is the version where any updates to the workflow will be saved. The versions below the separator are the deployed versions of the workflow.

![](/_fern-files/_img/9eac1823f0f3a7656d8be093f27b68ae97aac09f481c4e70d690ee6a31d4ba4a.webp)

You can view a previously deployed version of the workflow by clicking on the version. This will load the workflow in the editor for viewing, however, you cannot make any changes to a deployed workflow version. The idea being that once a workflow has been deployed, you can count on it not changing and can confidently use it in production environments.

![](/_fern-files/_img/9999a4afe027e28913667af6559520d87cb145e236331b6754c8822ffb5b011d.webp)

To deploy a new version of the workflow, click on the "Deploy" button in the upper right corner of the workflow editor. This will deploy the current draft version of the workflow and create a new version in the version history.

![](/_fern-files/_img/c342eec4bcdb490b1f5f368cf3ef105dbae2907e166c24f11868167b92f902fa.webp)

When running a workflow, you can choose which version of the workflow to run. By default, the "Draft" version of the workflow will be run, but you can choose a different version from the dropdown.

![](/_fern-files/_img/a36f205414010ceb74d159ffe570a50c91f42f9a384ffab87ce9e82e0a330cb0.webp)

After running a workflow, you can view the version of the workflow that was run in the history tab.

![](/_fern-files/_img/321be229bd50a6f1728b7cc7b055243c56a8c463553649ac66fde65868fa632b.webp)